New media artist Adel Abidin's new work for Flow Festival

This year, Flow Festival’s respected art program presents the newest work by established Finnish-Iraqi new media artist Adel Abidin, Musical Manifest. In addition, the festival introduces a striking new art space Tiilikello x Polestar, where festival-goers can experience arresting spatial and sound art. Topical video and light art, as well as painted art and photography, are also seen at Flow Festival this August.

New media artist Adel Abidin is one of the most internationally recognized artists currently working in Finland. His latest work, Musical Manifest, premiers in Europe at Flow Festival in Cirko. The piece is a six-channel video installation that investigates identity and perspective through music. It consists of six music videos where Abidin sings and acts as the protagonist. Intermixed from well-known pop songs, the lyrics resonate with the contemplation of his meanings in life. The work explores the themes of identity, power, fear, clichés, slippages, and uncertainties. At Flow, Musical Manifest is executed together with Creative Technology. Adel Abidin's work has been the subject of major exhibitions and galleries in private and public collections worldwide. Abidin's art's main point of departure is always linked to his intention to explore the complex relationship between visual art, politics, and identity, using various media to do so.

Flow Festival also presents a new event space as the recently renovated, awe-inspiring old gasometer is dedicated entirely to spatial and sound art. Reaching over 40 meters high, the impressive Tiilikello x Polestar venue hosts an exhibition curated by Emmi Kattelus. A massive, yet fragile work, The Blowing Flower by artist Hanna Vihriälä will be hung from the ceiling to be amazed by the spectators below. Made out of beads, the piece is something of a 3D watercolor that the artist tunes according to the scale of the space. The Blowing Flower explores the conflict between life’s immediacy and the need to hold on. Along with Vihriälä’s work, the Tiilikello will introduce the work by composer and sound artist Antti Tolvi, named Butterfly Effect. It is a piece for sound and light, a resonant space that forms gentle, slow, soft, and abstract events. Together, Vihriälä’s and Tolvi’s work will wrap the visitors in an all-embracing art experience.

Along with its experimental music and sound art program, The Other Sound x Sun Effects venue will present a topical video and light art exhibition curated by design collective Sun Effects. The collection includes Иван V (Ivana V), the work by light and video artist Ville Mäkelä criticizing tyranny and despots, and Metsä Puilta by artist Alexander Salvesen commenting on the logic of market economy and capitalism. Additionally, artist Jaakko Mattila and new media artist and professor Jussi Ängeslevä’s collaboration Pylväsvuo, Immanuel Pax’s video installation TRESPASSING exploring the themes of freedom and security, and video artist Merle Karp’s Hehku, reflecting on environmental destruction, will be experienced at The Other Sound x Sun Effects.

Swedish-Greek artist Björk Hijoort and artist-choreographer Tiia Kasurinen will create a collaborative piece, Millennial Muses, combining painted art with video projections to Flow’s Resident Advisor Front Yard. The work is inspired and intertwined with the mythology of the nine muses as well as the Internet and Y2K aesthetics and is created in cooperation with CULT energy drink. In the Make Your Mark Gallery, an exhibition by Berlin-based artist on the rise Mina Mania will be on display. Mania’s Fragments dʼune fleur – dédié à Romina is a series of works depicting a period of evolution and change. Additionally, Suvilahti DIY will comprise a photography exhibition at the Suvilahti skatepark, presenting the works of ten artists. The show DIY Yesterday – Gone Tomorrow! is an anthem to skateboarding and the soon-to-be-demolished Suvilahti skatepark.

Flow Festival takes place in Helsinki, Finland, on the 12th–14th of August 2022.

The festival will host around 150 artists. Already announced acts are Gorillaz, Florence + The Machine, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Burna Boy, Jamie xx, Michael Kiwanuka, JARV IS…, Princess Nokia, MØ, Sigrid, Bikini Kill, Freddie Gibbs, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Fred Again.., and many more.

See the full program.