Back to the full lineup


Balloon 360°

This year’s Emma Award winner for Best Jazz in Finland, singer-composer Selma Savolainen-led Horror Vacui explores the fear of emptiness, letting go, and discovery. Every sound has its counterpart, a shadow, and an echo from the past, leaving no room for true solitude. Alongside Savolainen, the Horror Vacui sextet features a high-calibre lineup from the Finnish jazz scene: Toomas Keski-Säntti on piano, Tomi Nikku on trumpet, Max Zenger on clarinets, Eero Tikkanen on double bass, and Okko Saastamoinen on drums. Savolainen has composed and arranged the music for the ensemble’s debut album, Horror Vacui, specifically for the sextet’s musicians.

Selma Savolainen has won awards such as the Rising Talent Award at the Pori Jazz Festival in 2022 and has been praised by Helsingin Sanomat as a vocalist who has elevated Finnish vocal jazz to a new level. Her English-language songs incorporate modern jazz as well as influences from the alternative singer-songwriter style.